About WHTI

The Western Hemisphere Transport Initiative (WHTI) is an element of the Summit of the Americas process. The purpose of the WHTI is to provide a forum for convergence and cooperation among the Ministries Responsible for Transportation of the Summit of the Americas countries. The WHTI derives its action program from priority action areas and other directives mutually agreed-upon by the Ministers Responsible for Transportation of the Summit of the Americas countries.

The WHTI has an Executive Committee made up of representatives of all member countries and organizations, the purpose of which is to promote and monitor the implementation of the Ministers’ directives, in accordance with its Terms of Reference. The current membership of the WHTI includes Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad & Tobago, the United States of America, Uruguay and Venezuela, as well as theEconomic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) and the Organization of American States (OAS), as member organizations. 

The Executive Committee has a Chair and up to two co-Chairs. Brazilis the current Chair, and Costa Rica and the United States of Americaare the Co-Chairs of the WHTI Executive Committee.

If you require further information regarding the Western Hemisphere Transport Initiative and its activities, please click here.